Mina, Nevada

US Highway 95 is the main drag between Las Vegas and Reno (and points beyond) in western Nevada. It passes mostly through dry valleys in the western Basin and Range, with very few towns along the way. Many would call this landscape “barren” or “boring” and hurry on through to one or the other of those big cities as quickly as possible. Not me. I’m actually drawn to the open spaces out there.

I do recognize, however, that some of the places I find visually intriguing (between botany stops in the hills and valleys) may be less appealing to some who live there. These places are isolated, with few economic opportunities and few services. I may stop for a brief visit now and then, but no, I would not choose to settle there.

Mina, Nevada

Twice last year I drove portions of US-95 with a like-minded photo-friend and we made numerous stops, trying to capture the personality of some interesting places along the way. Here are some of the things I saw in Mina, Luning, and a campground overlooking Walker Lake.

Mina, Nevada

Mina, Nevada

Mina, Nevada

Luning, Nevada

Luning, Nevada

Luning, Nevada

Campground, Walker Lake

Campground, Walker Lake

Campground, Walker Lake

I would be out there again this month or next, but the Pandemic has shut down tourism for now, isolating these paces even more than usual.


Copyright © 2020 Tim Messick. All rights reserved.
See also Tim Messick Photography and the Bodie Hills Plants blog.

5 thoughts on “US-95: Mina, Luning, and Walker Lake

  1. Thank you. Lot’s of old memories there from my younger life in Lee Vining. We used to go everywhere. >

  2. I have really enjoyed your last couple of emails with your photos. I hope you are all doing well, think of you often. I retired in January after working night shift for 40 years. Carolyn is gearing up to start a Masters program in nursing education this fall. Ian was laid off when the mountain closed a month early and the capital improvement crew that he expected to work with doing improvements on Copper Mountain has been cancelled this summer. He is getting unemployment and has found a landscaping job for the summer. One of his best friends from college died in a climbing accident a week ago so it has been very hard time for him. Elise is working for Rutgers University and when she was told to work from home she flew back to Napa and has been working remotely from here since St Patrick’s Day.

    Would love to plan having dinner with you all when things are a bit closer to normal.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Comments are now closed.