Points of View at the Pence

Exhibit flyer

Seven of my local photo-friends and I each have four images in a group exhibit at the Pence Gallery in Davis, CA, now through January 10. There’s a reception this Friday from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. — part of the monthly 2nd Friday ArtAbout in Davis — so come on by if you’d like to schmooze with the artists. Come back for more on Saturday at 2:00pm, to hear us chatter about our work in a couple of informal panel discussions!

One of mine:

Midtown Sacramento


Copyright © 2015 Tim Messick. All rights reserved.
See also Tim Messick Photography and the Bodie Hills Plants blog.

About Tim Messick

Photographer, cartographer, and botanist/naturalist. Home is in Davis, California. Home-away-from-home is the eastern Sierra Nevada. Compiling a flora of the Bodie Hills.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Points of View at the Pence

  1. john@durnandesign.com says:

    Howdy Timothy!Sorry for the delayed response. I’ve been crankin’ at the new job. Hey! Congrats on the showing! I’ll try to get out there during the holidays to see it with Sone.  I love those previous shots of Bodie on blog. I would really like to know how you overlay those images. Do you combine them in photoshop and artfully brush away portions of a mask? Details, Man! Details! At any rate, I think you’re really onto something, Tim. They truly capture that nostalgic ambience of the ‘ol West in a very provocative way. I don’t know how else to put it. They are very moving pieces, Tim, and I believe you could really market them if you wanted to. Keep it up! I hope your holidays are amazing, Tim, and you’re able to soak them up with your whole family. Miss Ya, Buddy. Thanks for sharing your artistic gift with me, Tim. It means a lot. John

  2. Tim Messick says:

    Thanks, John! The image above and the recent ones from Bodie are just looking into windows, capturing the reflections on the glass and also the bright objects visible through those windows. It’s all composed in-camera, with no layering or masking. Just some balancing of contrast and brightness in post-processing.

Comments are closed.