Hipstamatic (and a Blog Anniversary)

I published my first blog post 5 years ago today. This is post #320. Not bad! Keeping the content simple helps. Keeping busy with camera and computer helps.

UCD Arboretum

Lately I’ve been playing with the Hipstamatic app on my iPhone. Speaking of simple, what a wonderful way to make images that look like they came from a cheap, plastic, 1960s film camera! That’s not entirely sarcasm—it’s taken me some time to get on board with this funky retro aesthetic, but now that I’m doing it, I’m warming up to it.

UCD Arboretum

Lens: “John S.”  Film: “Claunch 72 Monochrome.”  And, well, I cheated just a little, too: a touch of Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop to recover some highlight detail.

UCD Arboretum

Location: Arboretum at the University of California in Davis.

UCD Arboretum

.

Tim Messick Photography • Graphics
Copyright © 2013 Tim Messick. All rights reserved.

.

.

About Tim Messick

Photographer, cartographer, and botanist/naturalist. Home is in Davis, California. Home-away-from-home is the eastern Sierra Nevada. Compiling a flora of the Bodie Hills.
This entry was posted in Cameras, Photographic equipment, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hipstamatic (and a Blog Anniversary)

  1. David Patterson says:

    Tim… congrats on the blogging milestone. Isn’t it cool how we can continually find new concepts to keep us amused photographically?

Comments are closed.