Ansel’s Darkroom

Far back in the last century, in 1970, ’71, and ’72, I had the amazing good fortune to attend three consecutive Easter Week Photography Workshops at the Friends of Photography in Carmel. The star of these events was Ansel Adams, but additional staff and guests included Steve Crouch, Morley Baer, Richard Garrod, Henry Gilpin, Brett Weston, Imogen Cunningham, Wynn Bullock, and others I should remember but don’t. At the ages of 14 to 16 I was a bit young for this sort of thing, and I probably seemed out of place to the rest of the group, but everyone was nice to me, or I was too in awe of the instructors to notice otherwise.

After the critique session with Imogen Cunningham, Ansel gave us what became the highlight of every workshop: a demonstration in his darkroom.

.

Ansel Adams in his Darkroom, March 1970

Ansel Adams in his darkroom, during a 1970 workshop.

.

Ansel Adams in his Darkroom, March 1970

.

Ansel Adams in his Darkroom, March 1970

.

Ansel Adams and student, March 1970

Discussions with workshop students.

.

Ansel Adams and student, March 1970

.

Tim Messick Photography • Graphics
Copyright © 2012 Tim Messick. All rights reserved.

.

.

About Tim Messick

Photographer, cartographer, and botanist/naturalist. Home is in Davis, California. Home-away-from-home is the eastern Sierra Nevada. Compiling a flora of the Bodie Hills.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ansel’s Darkroom

  1. Hans Levi says:

    That was fun. As an educator, I always showed Ansel’s images to my classes and told them as great a photographer as he may have been, he was an even better human being. Mown work was very different. As a young agile photographer, I concentrated on candid street images and published my work on the UC Berkeley campus as “Street Jesus.” Later as my reflexes slowed I started doing Urban landscapes with man and nature in a battle to obtain the upper hand. I thank you for all the excellent images of me with Ansel. You were pretty darned good for a 14 year old kid. Hans

  2. drawandshoot says:

    Tim, what an experience that must have been. Amazing!

Comments are closed.