Mosquito Wing

In college I took a class in scanning electron microscopy.  Not because I needed to use an SEM for any of my research (a local flora of vascular plants in the hills north of Mono Lake), but because it seemed like a great opportunity to make fascinating images of some incredibly small things.  I made a few good images, but the class was short, and the SEM was often in use by others.  Or waiting to be repaired.  Anyway, here’s one of my favorites, recently scanned from the 4×5 negative, and tidied up in Photoshop.

.

Scales on the edge of a mosquito’s wing.

.

.

→ Tim Messick Photography • Graphics

Copyright © 2010 Tim Messick. All rights reserved.

About Tim Messick

Photographer, cartographer, and botanist/naturalist. Home is in Davis, California. Home-away-from-home is the eastern Sierra Nevada. Compiling a flora of the Bodie Hills.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.