Dreaming in Photoshop

I noticed it first through the lens of my camera, swooping low over cattails half a mile to the north, then rising and turning southwest, wobbling a bit on wings I soon realized were too stiff, too blunt, for any heron, hawk, or pelican.  It ducked behind a line of willows, scaring up a roosting flock of black-crowned night herons, then emerged again, heading in my direction. There was a brief reflection off what seemed to be dark windows around the central bulge, and a faint sound like that of a distant carpet cleaner. Why had I chosen this, of all days, to leave the digital SLR at home and head into the wetlands with my ancient Nikkormat FTN and a few rolls of grainy film?

It passed by, accelerated, dipped under a set of low electrical wires, and was gone faster that it had arrived. Now, months later, I’m confused: was this “real”, or was I dreaming in Photoshop? Is there a difference any more?

→ Tim Messick Photography • Graphics

Copyright © 2009 Tim Messick. All rights reserved.

About Tim Messick

Photographer, cartographer, and botanist/naturalist. Home is in Davis, California. Home-away-from-home is the eastern Sierra Nevada. Compiling a flora of the Bodie Hills.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dreaming in Photoshop

  1. Tamia Nelson says:

    Do I see “Crasher the Ground Squirrel” in that aircraft, too? (haha)

  2. Tim Messick says:

    Tamia Nelson :

    Do I see “Crasher the Ground Squirrel” in that aircraft, too? (haha)

    Quite possibly. That could explain the haphazard flight path.

  3. Rick says:

    Quick! Send these photos to The Davis Enterprise. It’s been a slow news week. I’ll vouch for you. Ha Ha. Rick

Comments are closed.